+ UX – #003 “Emotional Design, Donald A. Norman” – Part 1

I realized, fundamental is acting in a very important rule in everything. From design aspects, there are some elements or topic that I know but I didn’t go on much (color, form, and more). When comes to User Experience, I know not much about it but a new phrase attracted me.

Emotional Design, it’s a topic that related to human behavior (again, human psychology) which I’m quite interested on it. After research on which books is available in both JMU’s library, I found “Emotional Design, Donald A. Norman”. I had heard the author name for few times after I click on UX topics, which my friend had taken some times on Don Norman’s book, “The Design of Everyday Things”. What I know is, my friend gets inspired a lot from it and it lightens up my curiosity to have a look on his books. So, I borrowed “Emotional Design” from library and try to read it.

Till today, I just read until the half of chapter one. From my understanding, emotional mostly comes before cognition in human brain but both of them works together in a team. While cognition helps human brain to learn general knowledge and statement to do general decision, emotion from affect helps human brain to justify good or bad, safe or dangerous. Human are usually follow their emotion to decide something and they may not realized. Comparing between positive and negative emotion on solving problems, positive emotion will guide to a better and broaden way for solution. Meanwhile, negative emotion will shorten sight in brain and makes people become anxious and tension which makes things become worse.

Besides that, there also consists of human brain levels:

  • Reflective
  • Behavioral
  • Visceral

This diagram shows how sensory go through three level in brain then to motor part. Besides that, three of them also a method to categorize between human, mammals, and non-mammals. Non-mammals only have visceral levels, which react to world and respond. While mammals(cow, cat, dog and more), they have visceral and behavioral which makes them to have behavior to act. Lastly, human brain consists all of three levels because human have the most emotional expressions. From visceral to behavior, then reflect. Reflect is based on the observation and experience, makes human can act from past experience and do better or tell other human with his experience.

Further understanding is still pending, I have to read more and understand more about emotional design to complete my understanding for this post.

Leave a Reply

